You Are Magical Girl Tag-Thingy!

My magical blogging bestie girl, Pinkie created this tag and kindly tagged me! Wheee! Did I mention I love tags?

Rules

1.  A Magical Girl is always polite!  So be polite! Display the Magical Girl Tag Logo, thank the one who tagged you and if you want tag creator to thank you for participating, tag Pinkie’s original post as well!  That last one is optional though!
2. A good magical girl gets the job done! Answer all the prompts! But do it like yourself! Come up with your own ideas, or compare it with other anime or video games! Anything goes! Just get the job done!
3. A good Magical girl always makes friends! Tag at least 2 people!  More is optional!
There is no 4! That would be bad luck!
5. A Magical girl is not defined by gender! Feel free to tag anyone!

I’m going to answer the questions and then list them at the bottom for my latest victims, uh, lucky tags.

A MAGICAL CREATURE DESCENDED FROM THE SKIES! IT IS TELLING YOU , YOU ARE A MAGICAL GIRL!  DESCRIBE THIS MAGICAL MESSENGER! WHAT IS IT.. WHERE IS IT FROM?!

An apsara, a celestial water nymph (like 3 of my favorite words all in one title) decends from the heavens as I am meditating next to a river. Like me she sits down and puts her toes into the water. Minnows nibble at her toes making her giggle as she begins to explain to me that I have a higher purpose in this life. I am a magical girl!

I told her that the water nymphs have been asking me to join them forever, but since I can’t really breathe underwater, I’ve regretfully turned them down. Oh, she says, you can transform – although your path does not lay with the water nymphs.

Well, now I’m curious…

YOUR CREATURE TELLS YOU ABOUT AN EVIL FORCE FROM AFAR! WHAT IS THIS EVIL FORCE?! WHAT IS THEIR GOAL?!

“You love this world, don’t you?” she answered me with a question. “You love trees, and water, and flowers, and birds, and all the beautiful living things and the magnificent rocks, mountains and land, water and sky that make up this planet. I can tell, you know, by all you say and do and create. The Lady has noticed how hard you try to heal and make beauty wherever you can.”

“I try. I’d like to think I’ve left the world a little better place than it was when I found it. I don’t know if I really succeed very much.” I replied, with a sigh.

“Even as the mortal that you are you have an effect on those around you that spreads ripples throughout the world. All you humans do, but many are unaware, or just don’t care. Oh! I made a rhyme!” she giggled. “But never doubt that we in the spirit world feel every little vibration of the aether, just like you feel these minnows nibbling at your toes – and mine.”

“The Lady has noticed. She has noticed that you just never give up. You get knocked down. You get up again.”

“That’s a song, you know.” I chuckled, “One of my favorites.”

“One of mine, too.” she smiled.

Frank Beard, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

“So – we know, too, that you’ve noticed that it seems like the world is becoming a darker and harder place all the time. You study all those conspiracy theories, and your ideas are close, but there are things you do not know. Things you could not even bear to imagine. But I have to tell you now, that it is true. There is truly a group of evil ugly people in this world, a tiny, exclusive group, who rule everything that goes on in this world. And only they know that they, too, have a master. His name is Grabbon and his one overriding passion is to HAVE IT ALL. He is an endless sucking black hole of need. There will never be enough to fill his emptyness and this makes him angry. It makes him hate those who are able to be satisfied, who find joy and happiness in the world through love and beauty and who are able to find satisfaction in the simple things – in having their most basic needs met. Grabbon hates them, and everyone, because anyone who has anything has something that he thinks HE needs. He pours out hate and greed and anger like the Goddess pours down rain to nourish her children. Gabbon would consume the Goddess herself, and all those who worship him, and this whole planet – and he would still be hungry.”

“Um. Okay. This sounds way above my pay grade.” I gulped, suddenly overwhelmed by a vision of an evil beyond any I had imagined before in my worst pits of despair.

THE CREATURE THEN TELLS YOU , YOU HOLD A GREAT VIRTUE, IT IS THE REASON YOU HAVE BEEN SELECTED! WHAT IS THIS REASON!

“We’ll have to see about getting you a raise.” the nymph said with a smirk. “You were chosen by the Goddess. Consider it a promotion if you must. You walk the line between reason and spirit. You blend chaos and order. Your eyes are open, you take in everything and judge nothing. You forgive. You love. But you do not let that keep you from having a good time, or from knowing the difference between good and evil, justice and injustice, life and never ending death. You can be a real pain in the ass. And you’re a pixie. And a witch.”

AFTER THE EXPOSITION , A MONSTER SHOWS UP AT YOUR DOORSTEP! IT IS TIME TO TRANSFORM! WHAT IS YOUR TRANSFORMATION ITEM?!

The lovely Apsara handed me a beautifully crafted beaded bag with spirals of green and blue and white. In fact, it looked…like the earth seen from space! It depended from a soft braided cord of the glistening silver white.

“We Apsaras all helped make that bag. The Goddess herself braided that cord. It is made of tail hairs from her own beloved winged unicorn steed. Go ahead, open it.”

I stroked the cord in wonder, and then gently opened the bag. I shook into the palm of my hand a beautiful stone, rounded by the action of running water to a sleek, polished beauty that glittered with every color in the rainbow.

I gasped at it’s beauty and stroked the surface with my fingers.

“Now you’ve done it.” the Apsara said with a laugh.

TRANSFORMATION SCENE TIME! HOW DO YOU LOOK AS A MAGICAL GIRL?! WHAT IS YOUR POWER AND SIGNATURE ATTACK?!

The green of the riverbank, the blue of the sky, the reflections in the river, and the brown of the willow trees suddenly swirled together creating the backdrop as I transformed. My arms, fingers, toes, and legs grew long and slender. My toes first burrowed deep into the earth tasting the good and the bad and so nourished I became so tall I could reach the stars. In fact, I plucked several from the sky – you know, long as I could reach, and tucked them into handy little hollows in my now bark covered abdomen.

Don’t worry, fre-ecards.com was my own website and this is my own art from many long years ago.

Like a willow I am supple and bendy. I can draw power from the earth and the sun and the moon in unlimited amounts. Pollution makes me ill, though, and I may barf all over the source. I can scratch and whip with my long fingers and toes and even my hair which has turned into long trailing willow branches but my best power of all is I can reach inside and grab one of those stars. When I throw them at evil, greedy, selfish humans – or even corporations and other organizations – the celestial light blazes down upon them and their ugliness and all their wicked deeds are exposed for all to see. They cannot escape the light once it has shined on them, no matter how they try. Once they are bathed in the light they are visited with instant karma for all they’ve done wrong, and all people see them for what they are and even their followers shrink away in shame and chagrin. Often those who have seen the light change their ways and spend the rest of their lives doing good to even out the scales. Not because they’re afraid of hell, but because they’ve gained empathy, compassion, and learned to care and to see the results of thier every action matters.

CATCHPHRASE TIME! NAME SOME OF THOSE LINES YOU REPEAT IN EVERY EPISODE.. AND TELL US WHEN YOU USE THEM!  THIS CAN BE A TRANSFORMATION PHRASE.. OR JUST SOMETHING COOL YOU KEEP REPEATING!

Delighted, I let go a laugh – a good loud belly laugh it is, full of joy and delight. It is a laugh so unique that it is recognized everywhere I go and so I suppose you could call it my signature! Of course, I will say “Blessedbe” every time I throw a star, or I see someone turn away from greed to compassion, or because a person, place or thing needs all the blessings it can get to heal. In rather less kindly vein, I will snarl “Karma Works” when a particularily nasty individual gets slammed with the retribution s/he richly (haha) deserves.

ARE YOU A SOLO MAGICAL GIRL?! DO YOU WORK IN A TEAM?! ARE YOU THE FIRST RECRUIT OR A SUPPORTIVE ONE?!

For a moment I pause mentally listing all of the many people and entities I think need a good dose of starlight and I am quickly overwhelmed at the enormity of the sickness in this world today. Luckily the nymph has stayed beside me and now pats me on the shoulder reassuringly.

“The Goddess knows this is far more than one person can do alone. We have chosen Magical Girls from all over the planet. Some have been working for years – where do you think Mother Theresa, or Maya Angelou, or Emma Gonzalez found their courage and strength to speak out and to heal? They and so many more are secretly Magical Girls – sometimes they don’t even know it!” the Apsara smiled. “In time I’m sure you’ll meet many more Magical Girls and you can all work together and seperately to heal and cleanse this planet until we have Grabbon on the run. Together we will chip away at his defenses and followers until he truly has nothing left. And then…well, who knows?” She kissed me on both checks, gave me a big hug and flew back into the sky.

Side note: Willows can really hug.

EVERY MAGICAL GIRL  HAS A GOAL IN HER NORMAL LIFE AS WELL! WHAT WOULD YOUR GOAL BE?!

I’d like to leave the world a little better place than it was when I found it.

WHAT IS THE DARK TWIST TO YOUR BEING A MAGICAL GIRL?!

Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the BPL, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

After each battle, I must retreat to a quiet place in the wilderness to replenish my powers. I can only do this by being the willow tree that I am. Sinking roots deep. Reaching branches to the sky. Draping leaves into the water of a nearby river or stream. The more times I use my powers, the longer I must spend as a tree until the day comes that…

My only remaining powers are to cast shade, and to shelter birds and snakes.

I can only hope that other Magical Girls will continue to carry on until Grabbon is defeated and the Earth is the fertile, abundant, beautiful source of harmony she is meant to be.

One can only hope…

Now for your convienence – the questions:

1.A Magical Creature descended from the skies! It is telling you , you are a magical girl!  Describe this magical messenger! What is it.. where is it from?!
2.Your creature tells you about an evil force from afar! What is this evil force?! What is their goal?!
3. The creature then tells you , you hold a great virtue, it is the reason you have been selected! What is this reason!
4. After the exposition , a monster shows up at your doorstep! It is time to transform! What is your transformation item?!
5.Transformation scene time! How do you look as a magical girl?! What is your power and signature attack?!
6.Catchphrase time! Name some of those lines you repeat in every episode.. and tell us when you use them!  This can be a transformation phrase.. or just something cool you keep repeating! 
7.Are you a solo magical girl?! Do you work in a team?! Are you the first recruit or a supportive one?!
8.Every magical girl  has a goal in her normal life as well! What would your goal be?!
9. What is the Dark Twist to your being a magical girl!

My Magical Girl Candidates:

(I wanted to tag Fred but someone beat me to him)

Crow of Crows World of Anime

9 Tailed Kitsune – after all, she is already a magical creature!

Grand Immortal Tofu King (Biblionyan) although I suppose it might be a minor demotion from King. Or not.

7 comments

    1. Hahahaha – when I was looking for the World Tree images I got lots of Yggdrasil references and thought, yeah, there’s my boyfriend. Groot would be more…active though LOL. Oh – no – an Ent…they’ve lost the Entwives after all (LOTR)

  1. I love the New Age/Wiccan like inspirations in this one, it has such different story beats! Almost as if every action would be a metaphor, or part of something bigger.

    The Willow tree fate is sad but really beautifull. I guess Mother Theresa did not use her powers all that much though!

    I’d watch this Magical Girl show! Thanks for doing the tag!

    1. Aww blush blush thank you. Yeah, I did mention I might be overthinking it and yes there are shades and vague references and…I dunno. I don’t think I’d mind being a tree for another 100 years or so…

  2. As soon as I hit an apsara, I knew I was in for a wild ride! I was going to say it was creative, but that would be missing the point. Of course it was creative, but you also managed to, as Pinkie said, paint a “sad but really beautiful” picture.

    And thanks for the tag! But did you really have to set the bar so high? I’ll do what I can, but seriously…

Leave a comment

Mechanical Anime Reviews

Reflecting on Mecha Anime, myself, the fandom, and other Anime

Getmorexp

Live life and GetmoreXP

Muse of Eagle

Thoughts, stories, and reviews.

The Writings of Terrance A. Crow

Science Fiction Can Show a Way Forward

Unclearer

Enjoyable Information. Focused or Not.

Everything is bad for you

Escapism through gaming

Pinkie's Paradise

A Tropical Resort for all geeks

How Anime Stuff Works!!

Yume De Aimashou

I'm Not Dead Yet...

Fear, loathing and maybe a little bit of hope about growing old.

The Moyatorium

A straw-made nest for anime, its music, and wishy-washiness.

Saania's diary - reflections, learnings, sparkles

Life is all about being curious, asking questions, and discovering your passion. And it can be fun!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Curly Sue’s Ramblings

lifestyle, reviews, books and more!

Renee's Unique Mind

Creativity, Imagination, Craziness, Fun. It's All Here. Take Your Pick.

KS Blogs

Half the comedy, all the taste

百物語怪談会 Hyakumonogatari Kaidankai

Translated Japanese Ghost Stories and Tales of the Weird and the Strange